The Latest

The Daily Read: There’s Something You’ve (We’ve) Been Neglecting

I’m feeling real Steebie J neglectful at the moment. Also very tired.

Hi friends! It has been a long, longgg time it seems since I’ve had the gracious opportunity to interact with all of you. It seems like it’s been an even longer time since I’ve been able to provide a daily read for you to analyze (and probably hate). We’ve been super busy with our master plan for world domination; and while we’ve been working hard to provide you guys with the right content (and building the right connections offline), we can’t say that it’s been tirelessly.

Finding the perfect balance between all of your projects may seem impossible, especially as a creative. Speaking from personal experience, that perfect balance doesn’t seem to exist these days – with all of the events, people, and places that you’ve found yourself committed to attend in fear of missing out on the next happening thing in our industry. How does one move ahead in their career and STILL find time to sleep, wash their hair or get a manicure OR shower?!?!?!

Over the past three weeks, I’ve started a new full-time gig over at a great website called The Stashed and I have to say, I’m over the moon. I’m infintely elated to finally be recieving the opportunity to showcase my talents to more than one media platform. As I’ve written before, life isn’t always easy for a young writer, especially one that started a bit (okay, A LOT) later than most of her peers. While I’m eternally grateful to get my foot in the door, I’m also learning that it’s not always easy to wear multiple hats serving as staff writer for Stashed, the Head Librarian here, as well as my other freelance projects that I continue to seek.

Starting a new job is always time consuming when you have multiple projects in the works. There are several factors that you never considered go into the process of going from being your own boss to working in an office environment. When you’ve worked for yourself for over a year as a freelance writer, finding your own stories and making your own way in the business is something that you just naturally pick up a long the way. Usually this means that you can make your own schedule and tailor your projects around your personal time. However, when you join an entity such as The Stashed, you’re entering something that is a well-oiled machine. The time that you had during the day to run your errands and groom yourself is no longer yours; leaving you feeling exasperated

Now, if you know anything about me, it’s that I put an insane amount of pressure on myself to be the best at any endeavor that I take on. Making the slightest mistake, even a small grammatical one that your editors point, drives me up an internal wall of complete insanity. What drives me even crazier than making mistakes, is when I don’t find the time to accomplish all of the tasks on my to-do list.

iDuECIc3JZg5E

While trying my hardest to impress my new media industry peers, I’ve found that I’ve been neglecting the very ventures that landed me this opportunity in the first place – things that I had no intention of giving up once I recieved this position. Finding a way to successfully culminate all of the practices in your life isn’t as easy as some make it seem (thanks for that perception, Oprah.) and can leave you feeling a little down-trodden.

I wish I could provide you with the perfect solution that you crave, but unfortunately I’m still learning to balance it all. The best advice that I can offer you is that if you do nothing else, make sure you set aside time for sleeping and self preservation. Most of us think that forgetting about our personal needs means that you’re “putting in work”, which couldn’t be further from the truth. In fact, most people don’t realize the effects of not taking care of yourself first has on the cerebral mechanics of your body, thus leading to work that is subpar of your actual talents. Though you may feel like you’re neglecting your career, self-care is the most necessary step you take to being on top of your game.

Because honestly, the excuse “I’m sorry  I was tired when I made that mistake” while understandable, won’t fly anymore. If you’re feeling a bit overwhelmed with work, ask your fellow team members for help and communicate with them about your busy schedule. Take care of you first – the rest will fall into place.

 

About D.HowE (118 Articles)
Editor-In-Chief of the tomfoolery. Feel free to join the convo by leaving a comment and following me on twitter (@dhowE_)!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. The Daily Read: “What The Hell Happened To The Library?” – A Note To Our Readers | The Library

Leave a Reply

