The Latest

Recipe of the Week: Skinny Bang Bang Shrimp

DIY sauces are the best kind of sauce!

A good friend of mine sent me a text that said, “here, have your fun because I know you’ve been waiting on this”, with a link to the greatest BuzzFeed article I’ve ever read.  24 Delicious DIY Sauces You’ll Want to Put on Everything was basically made just for me.  Almost once a week I try to make a new sauce, even if I don’t cook with it, I’m bottling it up and saving it for later.

This week’s recipe features an easy sweet chili sauce that I had NO idea contained ingredients I’ve already had in my home.  You all know I’m about quick and easy recipes that don’t require much prep work or time so I had to share this with you all.  Check out the Skinny Bang Bang Shrimp recipe that shouldn’t be confused with the Cheesecake Factory Bang Bang Chicken and Shrimp recipe I put up a couple weeks ago. These two are completely different recipes.  Enjoy and tell us how you liked it!

via mealmaintenance.com

via mealmaintenance.com

 

 Ingredients

Shrimp

  • ½ pound medium sized shrimp, peeled, deveined and tails removed
  •  ¼ cup almond flour
  •  ¼ cup + 1 tablespoon light mayo
  • 2 teaspoons sweet chili sauce
  • 1 teaspoon sirracha
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 green onions

Chili Sauce

  • ½ cup sugar
  • ¼ cup rice vinegar
  • ¼ cup water + 2 tablespoons water
  •  1 ½ tablespoons garlic, minced
  • ½ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • ½ teaspoon sirracha
  • 1½ tablespoons flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt

Instructions

To make chili sauce:
1.In a small saucepan combine sugar, rice vinegar and ¼ cup water. Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Add garlic, red pepper flakes and sirracha.
2.Whisk flour and 2 tablespoons water together. Slowly whisk in sugar and vinegar. Bring to a boil again, and reduce to a simmer until thickened, about 5-7 minutes. Cool.

For Shrimp:
1.In a large bowl, whisk together mayo, sweet chili sauce and sirracha.
2.Heat a large non-stick skillet to a medium-high heat. Add olive oil.
3.Season shrimp with salt and pepper.
4.In another bowl, toss shrimp with almond flour.
5.Cook shrimp until cooked through, about one minute per side.
6.Toss hot shrimp in chili mayo sauce.
7.Serve with sliced green onion.

About A.Nikk (185 Articles)
I love food and social media

1 Comment on Recipe of the Week: Skinny Bang Bang Shrimp

  1. sylvieamesee // May 6, 2015 at 7:53 am // Reply

    My 25 old son adores shrimps and I’m sure this new version will please him!

Leave a Reply

