The Latest

Recipe of the Week: Brazilian Fish Stew

It’s winter, let’s make some stew!

If you’re like me, you are constantly thinking of food.  When I mean constantly thinking of food, I mean twenty-four hours a day seven days a week.  I am constantly trying to find new ways to use the ingredients in my house to come up with great meals because let’s face it, we don’t want to eat the same thing over and over again.

One day I came across Talapia in my freezer and was stumped on how I wanted to prepare it.  This Brazilian Fish Stew was a pleasent recipe I stumbled across.  I had every item in my house that I never knew would come together to make such an excellent dish.  If you’re looking to try something different that doesn’t require a lot of prep work or ingredients try this out and be sure to share the wealth.

 

via isingingthekitchen

via isingingthekitchen

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds tilapia fillets, cut into chunks
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 4 large bell peppers, sliced
  • 1 (16 ounce) can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 (16 ounce) can coconut milk
  • 1 bunch fresh cilantro, chopped (optional)

Directions

  1. Stir together the lime juice, cumin, paprika, garlic, salt, and pepper in a bowl. Add the tilapia and toss to coat. Cover and refrigerate at least 20 minutes, up to 24 hours.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Quickly fry the onions in the oil 1 to 2 minutes. Reduce heat to medium. Add the bell peppers, tilapia, and diced tomatoes to the pot in succeeding layers. Pour the coconut milk over the mixture. Cover the pot and simmer 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in the cilantro and continue cooking until the tilapia is completely cooked through, another 5 to 10 minutes.

 

image via isinginthekitchen

About A.Nikk (185 Articles)
I love food and social media

Leave a Reply

