The Latest

The Daily Read: Reflect, Don’t Regret

Hindsight is 20/20? Not exactly.

in-the-past

As a post-graduate young professional, I have looked back on my college days fondly. I have been employed at a great company for over a year, and recently switched roles within the organization. After having a conversation with some of my new peers, I realized that I was now doing a job that makes me SO happy, but does not exactly relate to the degree that has put me into about $30K of debt. I started to regret my choice of not going to a state school as soon as the conversation was over.

With the cloud of regret looming over my head, I needed to find a way to rationalize my decision to go to an expensive school over a state school that I could’ve gone to for free (Note: You probably think I am insane for making this decision, but read on, it makes sense). I would do a pros and cons list in my head over and over. After going back and forth for quite some time, I returned to my cube at work, where I was faced with tons of pictures of none other than my fellow Librarians! I immediately stopped trying to rationalize and no longer regretted my decision. I realized that all of the experiences I had in college and the bonds that I created with these talented, beautiful women cannot be quantified and evaluated simply by a price tag. Instead of regretting my decision, I learned to reflect and focus on all of the positive things that have happened because I made that decision. And, although my new job isn’t directly related to my degree, I am not sure if I would have had the same access to resources that got me to this place anywhere else!

Why the hell am I telling you all of this? Well, I find that I hear a lot of people talking about the “mistakes” they’ve made and that if they could go back and change things, they would. Truth is, you CAN’T! The last time I checked (it was 30 seconds ago), there are no time machines that let you go back and change the past. What has happened happened for a reason, and although it may seem like it was a huge mistake at the time, you cannot deny that the person you are today was affected by that choice. So I encourage you to really think of the positive things that have come out of seemingly bad choices or times in your life. In essence: stop regretting and start reflecting.

I hope you all feel super-zen now. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

