The Latest

The Daily Read: Expand Your Vocabulary and Use the Word Woman

You have been waiting with bated breath for a super-feminist post, and here it is. Kind of.

gif 1

I’m going to start this off with some good ol’ Webster’s Dictionary definitions.

female: 

(adjective) “of or denoting the sex that can bear offspring or produce eggs, distinguished biologically by the production of gametes (ova) that can be fertilized by male gametes”

(noun) “a female person, animal, or plant.”

Ok, got that part down? Good. Read and digest this next definition.

woman:
(noun) “an adult human female”

Now, which of those definitions seems to be a little less, oh I don’t know, scientific? Which one seems to apply specifically to human beings? What is “woman,” Alex? Ding! Ding! Ding! We have a winner!
I’m not here to bash people for using the word female, as it is a perfectly acceptable word, for the most part. I have, however, recently become aware of how the word female is being used more than the word we have specifically created for humans: woman. I would like to advocate that the word “woman” become a larger part of our vocabulary, simply because it applies directly to half of the population. The word “female” seems to be devoid of any human emotion, and there is no woman on this planet that is devoid of human emotion, trust me.

I smell your argument already! You are thinking, “Not all females are women in my eyes! Some of these young females have a lot of maturing to do before I call them a woman!” Ok, I hear that. But I would rather be called a girl than female if you do not see me as a woman. At least “girl” applies to only humans! The word female is so generic, it can be applied to plants. I don’t want to be a plant (not even a dandelion, for those of you who are fans of “Orange is the New Black”).

Why does it even matter, you ask? Well, as made plain in the definition of the word itself, female is primarily used to distinguish living things based on their reproductive parts. Um, I like mine and all, but I would prefer to be called by a word that doesn’t JUST describe lady bits.

Also, the word female can seem a little demeaning at times, right? Here’s an example:

1. I don’t want anyone talking to my female the wrong way.

OR

2. I don’t want anyone talking to my woman the wrong way.

Besides the obviously possessive nature of this example, doesn’t the second option seem to be more, I don’t know, human?
I was having a conversation with a male acquaintance once, and we were discussing the stupid games people play when dating. When I mentioned how much I hate playing games, he replied “Yes you do! You’re a female! All females play games.” *eye roll* If you’re going to insult me, at least call me a woman.

So my little mission for you all is to use the word “woman” more often. Use female sparingly, mostly when referring to plants, animals, or ratchets.
gif 2
Rant over.

Leave a Reply

