The Latest

Entertainment: Angie Martinez Dishes On Leaving Hot 97 For Power 105 On The Breakfast Club

“These hoes aint loyal!!!” – Hot 97 

Radio personality and former Hot 97 DJ, Angie Martinez visited Power 105’s “The Breakfast Club” Tuesday morning to dish on her shocking decision to resign from the New York radio station. The sudden announcement to jump ship and head to rival Power 105, which came last week via the personality’s Instagram account, made waves throughout the NYC community, leading to much speculation as to why this happened in the first place.

Martinez took to the popular morning show to clear up any existing rumors and explain why she left the place she’s called home for more than 20 years.

On why she left Hot 97: 

“It was time for me to grow and to do things. There’s so much things…I’m sure you all know. This company (Clear Channel) offers so much opportunity for growth and I want to be on in different cities. I wanna be able to grow, I wanna be able to have new challenges, see new things. I wanna learn this studio and this studio works. It was time. I feel like I’ve done what I could do with that company (Emmis Communications) and I think my friendships remain. I never subscribe to, because somebody works somewhere else, we have to be enemies.”

On the notion that she’s disloyal:

“It’s business and people leave jobs all the time. I’m not disloyal at all. I’ve always been extremely loyal. I put, I don’t know how many years of my life, down for that company. And even like, the highest of higher ups, which is where I went to make the first call, like ‘I’ve decided to take this amazing offer that I got,’ they said, ‘you’ve served this company so well for so many years, I could do nothing but wish you well.’ It was no, ‘How dare you! Why would leave us?!’ It was emotional and sad, but nobody was angry. Nobody felt like, ‘you’re doing the wrong thing.’ Everyone said, ‘This is the right thing to do for your career.”

You can catch Martinez on Power 105 for the Afternoon Drive weekdays from 2pm-6pm starting mid-July. Check out her interview with The Breakfast Club below!

[youtube http://youtu.be/AIoBhYLDkFk&w=560&h=315]
About D.HowE (118 Articles)
Editor-In-Chief of the tomfoolery. Feel free to join the convo by leaving a comment and following me on twitter (@dhowE_)!

Leave a Reply

